Search This Blog

Google Analytics

Sunday, September 27, 2009

2009 Formula 1 Singtel Singapore Grand Prix Saturday Qualifying Results

The qualifying race for 2009 Formula 1 Singtel Singapore Grand Prix is out, with McLaren's Lewis Hamilton on pole, followed by RBR-Renault's Sebastin Vettel and Willims-Toyota's Nico Rosberg.

Nico Rosberg is already being labelled as one of the hot favourites for Marina Bay's street circuit, having performed very well last season. The Q3 race was in fact cut short after Brawn-Mercedes's Rubens Barrichello crashed in the final 26 seconds before the chequered flag was due to fall. The crash soon brought the red flag up, halting the race, and everyone who started later and behind Hamilton had reasons to feel disappointed. With only 26 seconds remaining, Q3 would not be restarted and the grid would be formed on the basis of their first run times. If the red flag was not up and Barrichello did not crash, drivers behind Hamilton like Nico Rosberg could have a high chance of finishing off at a faster timing than Hamilton. So, Rubens Barrichello may indirectly had helped Lewis Hamilton to pole position for the Singapore Grand Prix.

Looking at the grid conditions, I thought Singapore's street circuit is still very bumpy despite several calls for improvements. I hope Singapore will improve and make the circuit less dangerous the next time round.

I predict Nico Rosberg as the hot contender to be the Singapore Grand Prix champion for 2009 season.

2009 Formula 1 Singtel Singapore Grand Prix Saturday Qualifying Results
Pos  Driver               Team
1 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes
2 Sebastian Vettel RBR-Renault
3 Nico Rosberg Williams-Toyota
4 Mark Webber RBR-Renault
5 Rubens Barrichello Brawn-Mercedes
6 Fernando Alonso Renault
7 Timo Glock Toyota
8 Nick Heidfeld BMW Sauber
9 Robert Kubica BMW Sauber
10 Heikki Kovalainen McLaren-Mercedes
11 Kazuki Nakajima Williams-Toyota
12 Jenson Button Brawn-Mercedes
13 Kimi Räikkönen Ferrari
14 Sebastien Buemi STR-Ferrari
15 Jarno Trulli Toyota
16 Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes
17 Jaime Alguersuari STR-Ferrari
18 Giancarlo Fisichella Ferrari
19 Romain Grosjean Renault
20 Vitantonio Liuzzi Force India-Mercedes

No comments:

Post a Comment

Do provide your constructive comment. I appreciate that.

Popular Posts