Saturday, August 27, 2011

Google+ adds Ignore option

Blocking someone on Google+ has always been possible. Today, Google+ adds a new 'Ignore' option, similar to 'Block' but not as strong and are different, as announced on a Olga Wichrowska's Google+ post.

When you ignore a person:

  • They'll be removed from the list of ‘People who have added you.’
  • New content will no longer be delivered to your Incoming stream, and content they've already shared will be removed from Incoming.
  • Their mentions of you won't appear in your stream and you won't receive a notification for them.

When you block someone:

  • You won't see their content in the stream or on Incoming (even though you'll remain in their circles).
  • They'll be removed from any circles of yours that they appear in.
  • They'll be removed from your extended circles even if you have mutual connections.
  • They won't be able to comment on your content that was posted after they were blocked.
  • They won't be able to view content shared with your circles (although they may still see content you post publicly).
  • They won't be able to mention you in posts or comments.

Help center articles are available at http://goo.gl/HQ7AS (Ignoring people) and http://goo.gl/KNW7L (Block someone).

No comments:

Post a Comment

Do provide your constructive comment. I appreciate that.